top of page

ANSI/IACET Standard for Continuing Education and Training


Susan Smith

Apr 14, 2023

"American National Standards Instutute is ANSI"

" International Accreditors for Continuing Education and Training Standard for Measuring Contiuing Education Units"

By Susan Jean Smith April 13, 2023

Information about IACET's Standards for Lifelong Learning- include the standards developed and approved by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). In addition, the International Accreditors for Continuing Edcuation and Training partnered with the Federal Goverment Department of Education, and in 1970hhad a task to create Continuting Education Units. This temporary organization partnership continued to be a team until IACET was no longer an interpendent unit. In 1990, IACET was appointed to be an ANSI Standards Developer (

For instructional designers, it is important to notice the online training opportunities that are on the International Accrditors for Continuing Education and Training website ( Some key factors include developing courses that met the measurement of 10 contact hours equals 1 continuting education unit. To develop courses for 3 CEUs, the instructional designer needs to create courses that offer 30 hours of contact hours per a course.

" How to Become a CEU Creator?"

Here is a link, for a video, with some advise to become a CEU Course creator.


Badget, C. (2021, July 6). "How to Create and Sell Continuing Education CEU Courses as a Curriculum Developer". YouTube. Retrieved April 21, 2023, from

bottom of page